Last year, I celebrated my successful journey of losing 10kg weight off my body. I was not that fitness-guru who was very consistent with my routine. In fact, as I looked and review my run tracker, the intervals of those days that I ran and the days I don’t were like months apart. 

My consistency isn’t really encouraging. I definitely would always stop when I see little weight and body improvements. My love for food always wins over my desire of getting fit. 

It was not a year of determined losing weight testimonial, it was more like – lazy kind of fitness journey. However, I still managed to lose some of those, but I could have done better if only I have that discipline and drive and consistency. 

10kg is not at all bad, but I wish I could have done much better. 

  
*** 
Holidays came, dinners here and there, parties, luncheons, reunions – all gave me wonderful time with people and a whooping 5kg increase back to my body. Surprise, I gained! 

Now I’m feeling so guilty. I felt like, how could I ever let myself go back to square one, again? As we all know the comeback is always the most difficult part. 

It’s not easy to get that mental state of working out hard again and everything that you have to work out on just ti achieve your target. It’s definitely double effort this time, this year. 
My workout summary would definitely look messy, some days I have, most days I don’t. My determination level is low and my “it’s okay – Ill make it up next time” excuse days are super high. 

But as they always say “don’t cry over spilled milk” , I realized that whining won’t help, I really have to get myself pumped up and do something about my weight gain and reach my fitness goals this 2017.

***
One of the 5 biggies in my goals this year is “fitness”. I dream to see myself back to my pre-maternal weight, which means I have to lose 15kg off my body weight this year. Not only losing it, but making sure I get to establish a healthy eating lifestyle, to stay fit and wear clothes back to “s” sizes.

***
As I write this blog, I have already started my “night runs” 5 days consistently. In fact, I have to skip work today – because my body is really sore. It’s been a while since my body got tired, productively.

  
  
For that 5 days, I have ran 5km per night, improving my phase and speed, my endurance and my breathing. So far, it has been good. And I plan to be consistent in this.

*** 

They say that the secret to reaching your goals, is to visualize the “process” involving it. That means you have to be specific with the steps you have to take so you can reach your destination. 

  

It’s not about how long or how far, but it’s all about how many times, how consistent are we in doing the process to reach it – how determined and focused are we in reaching it. It’s all about consistency and discipline. 

As usual I have come up with some personal pointers, I apply to my life – so I can become successful with my fitness targets.

  • Be Consistent

Consistency is always the key to anything. It does not matter whether you run your fastest today, what matters is how many times will you be willing to set aside time to run? Consistency is not dependent on our mood – when we are consistent that means, no moods, no weather, no excuses could get in our way. Why? Because we know that every little thing that we do is contributing something to achieving the result. 

Plan: I should run for a minimum of 5km, 4x a week. I should also run purposely, making sure that I would log a minimum of 20minutes run. 

This kind of detailed planning would not materialize if we don’t pay attention to it and if we don’t do it. Consistency is the key to discipline. 

  • Be Intentional

This year I have this word “intentional” as the basis of all my undertakings and decision makings. If we are intentional in our dealings, we learn to value time and activities. We would learn to say “no” to the unnecessary because we would always look for results. 

I apply this to my weight loss journey this year. Running is one tool to help with my goal, however, if I would not be intentional with my eating habits – for sure the results will also not come.
  
Is eating junk food going to help me or not? Is sleeping late will contribute to my overall strength and focus? If I skip 3 days from running, will it give me any results? 

Plan: In order for me to lose 15kg in 4 months, I must eat wisely too. Avoid sugar, processed food, rice and noodles, salty and breads. I also must take good care of my overall health to easily recover. Sleep early and drink lots of water 

  • Dont Give Up

Sometimes all good things come to those who wait. Losing weight also takes a while, same as when we gained all those weight. It takes an enormous amount of calories in order for us to be bigger – and so losing it down definitely may require a huge amount of hardwork, healthy choices and patience. 

One problem that is causing me to stop exercising is sometimes the waiting game. If it takes longer and there is no visible result – I get disappointed. But last year I learned that with the huge amount of consistency, effort, good intentions – results will definitely come out. 

Don’t give up on your goals, just keep on pushing hard, harder until you get the results that you want.
  

Revelation:
I don’t like distance running, I feel it’s boring. For 3 consecutive days, I have skipped my interval trainings and went on a distance run of 5km, the feeling was fulfilling and satisfying. There were times that I was catching my breathe, but I kept on pushing, after 6 rounds – I finished my 5km run at 28minutes. 

***
I promise to write as much updates regarding my fitness journeys. Let’s all learn from each other and hopefully all of us would reach all of our fitness goals. Eventually learning the value of discipline and consistency too.

Happy New Year! 

Leave a Reply

