Have you ever been afraid?

Fear comes like a sneaky drop of thought that sometimes paralyzes your current state of joy and happiness. Fear can sometimes steal a joyful anticipation of the future and replace it with so much worries and scary-thoughts. Fear can also rob us with potential blessings and potential growth – because fear is like a chain that entraps someone, making that person feel hopeless and helpless. 
  
The moment you let fear take control of your thoughts, your heart and emotions – the next day you wake up, you may have lost a lot of opprortunities, blessings and favors. 

***
As I have mentioned in my previous blogs, I have been reading the bible consistently, everyday, almost the whole day. I read it in the morning to work, during tea-breaks, lunchtime, on my way home and just before I sleep. I think about the promises I read, that excites my heart. I blog about it, I write it on my journal – I memorize the verses and speak it to my life. 

Surprisingly, once you established the habit – you would always look forward to every sit-down moment with God, to just hear from Him and get to know more about His character.

There are so many promises of God in the bible, they are not hidden, unfortunately for some, we missed a lot of learnings and instructions, we become unaware because of our own reasonings. 

But the moment you open up your heart, to humbly learn, set aside time to dissest and understand God’s words and apply it to your life – you would really see the difference it would make, to our whole being. 

One of the characters of God that I am grateful about – is the truth; He is Sovereign. He holds our past, present and our future. Period. Accept it or not, the choices we make can only make us or break us but God in His sovereign power can always define what our future would be. If we surrender our needs, our wants, our goals and ambitions to Him, He will carry out His plans for us and will take care of all our needs. Giving you that feeling of security. 

If that’s the case, do I still have reasons to be afraid? 

*** 
Recently there has been a creeping thought that hovered in my head for 3 days. I researched about it, googled about it, I talked to someone about it – then I got more fearful. I investigated deeper, googled it further and even listened to experiences of other people who suffered the same creeping thought – then my fear intensified. With all the information I gathered, it proved me the worst – that fear can definetely ruin anything that I plan. Then my joy started to shatter, I got so afraid and I break down. My thoughts started to run wild with “what ifs” – 

The truth is when fear is supplied with own-understanding reasonings and fact-finding the fear comes alive. It’s like an illusion that puts you into a nightmare. Like a dead end. You can’t think, can’t move, can’t breathe – hopeless. Imagine the effort of gathering all of those negative information to supply the fear. Terrible! 
  
So fear got into me, I felt so crippled and devastated. I couldn’t recollect my thoughts and I started to ask myself why? Where did all my bible readings go? How can I let myself believe such things versus the promises God gave. Why we can easily identify the negative stuffs or lies over blessings and promises? And why we easily trade the promises of hope to a fearful thought? Why? 

Because we are human. We are teeny-tiny-frail individuals, that is ignorant of the truth, that needs constant guidance and reassurance. We needed to be reassured of our future, our hopes, our goals and ambitions. The problem is, when critical times such as fearful times – we easily give in to our self-understanding. We fail. 

So I reminded myself; 
Why so downcast oh my soul? Put your hope in God! 

*** 

See the problem here, is me, its not the Lord nor His many promises. It’s my thoughts and my heart. I got too much afraid of a situation that is not yet happening, a situation that I believed is existent. But…

The truth is, nothing of the things I am fearful about is existent. Worst is, it’s not even transpiring. I got afraid because there was a louder voice that lured me to believe my greatest fears. It’s as if it’s real and it’s going to happen. 

I have been wised with my own understanding and my eyes looked into my fraility instead of acknowledging God’s sovereignity over my life. 

So stand up, chins up, look up and hear this; 

The Lord says,

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness” – Isaiah‬ ‭41:10‬ ‭KJV‬‬

He also said; 

…Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine. When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” Isaiah‬ ‭43:1-2‬ ‭

Why? Because…

“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” John‬ ‭16:33‬ ‭KJV‬‬

***
The enemy of our soul, can only entrap us for the things we do not know. But, fear not because the Lord of the universe, the One who redeemed and restored us – says so. He had taken care of all our earthly troubles. 

Sickness, diseases, calamities, grief, problems and many more – God had all the answers. Just hold on tight with Your faith, because He is moving. His promise and His words will never come back to Him void, His promise for those who pursue righteousness is this; 

“The wicked die and disappear, but the family of the godly stands firm.” Proverbs‬ ‭12:7‬ ‭NLT‬‬

You can rest in the promise of God, that He will uphold you and restore You and strengthen You. We will stand firmly, no one can move us, nothing can uproot us.. no threats or lies can win over us, why, because God upholds us. Isn’t that a promise of peace? 

So don’t be afraid.. whatever things that may come, nothing can overpower God’s mighty hand! We are on the safe side! 

So what is your greatest fear? Submit it to the Father and let Him sort it out for you! 

  

Let me leave this quote from one of my favorite authors and faith-heroes; 

“Never be afraid to trust your unknown future to a KNOWN GOD” – Corrie Ten Boom

Have a blessed and peaceful, confident days! 

Leave a Reply

