UPDATE

After Christmas break, Im finally back to work but Im still on the festive mode. I can’t seem to figure how to ignite my mind and my will to start working productively today. However, there had been so many things that transpired since morning.

I came to talk to a handful of clients this morning and most of them are quite rude and still on the holiday mood too. 

One particular client of today really upset me. He seems to be that particular person who acts and speaks like he knows everything, even the financial product that I was proposing to him. I can sense on the other line that he is trying to intimidate me and he even pretended to be a “so-so” of a certain industry that I am in – to appear that he thinks he knows the product better, the terms better and even the wordings in the policy. 

   

So I respectfully gave him that benefit, that maybe he really knows what Im about to present to him, so I just let him speak and I listened carefully with no judgments. Honestly, I really like clients who raise concerns and questions, to prove why our product should be beneficial for them, that challenges me to present better and convince better, but this client is different. 
As I have listened to his statements, I learned that he is not from the industry that he said he was from and that he really got no clue to the topic that we were discussing( beauty of listening more, quick to listen and slow to anger)  The more the comment he makes, the more I can prove to myself that he really does not have any idea at all. He just want to prove something to me. I felt that I am wasting my time listening to his pretentions and arrogance. I wanted to simple hung up but I have to observe proper discourse. He is our potentional client. 

In my defense, as he is the client, he has all the right to reject the proposal if he finds it unsuitable which I would definitely understand. But he chose to intimidate and reproof me with no regard. Then I decided not to talk anymore and just let him finish whatever he is saying and I just said goodbye to him. I got upset, for the reason that he missed the benefits of the plan we were proposing because he chose to be arrogant and prove to know even if we have not presented anything at all. He didnt even had the chance to at least know what is was the presentation all about.

REALIZATION
I realized that what we read in the bible is true. Foolish people despise wisdom and understanding, but the those who fear the Lord will gain wisdom. Oftentimes we can encounter people like this in our lives. Difficult people. How do we respond to them?

  

As a salesperson, the objective of my every conversation is conversion. I must turn every opportunity into a sales opportunity. Wasting no valuable time and making sure that everything that comes out from my mouth is a benefit and some more benefits. There are too many cases that out of urgency and lack we will pursuade a person until his “no” becomes a “yes”. There are ways. There are a million of techniques to apply. But What I did with that particular conversation is totally different. If my boss would hear it, I would definitely get a scolding “could have probe to know more” “could have said this and that”… but hey, there is always an exemption. 

APPLICATION
That moment I was with that client, I knew that I am not gaining anything even if proceed to fight for the benefits of my product. His objections were all out of the line and there is no way that I can pursuade this client. 

There are instances in life when we meet difficult, arrogant and unreasonable people and the bible gave some practical tips to handle them. 

Taken from this proverb from the wisest King who wrote many proverbs. 

He that correcteth a scoffer getteth to himself reviling; And he that reproveth a wicked man getteth himself a blot. Reprove not a scoffer, lest he hate thee: Reprove a wise man, and he will love thee. Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be yet wiser: Tearch a righteous man, and he will increase in learning. The fear of Jehovah is the beginning of wisdom; And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For by me thy days shall be multiplied, And the years of thy life shall be increased. If thou art wise, thou art wise for thyself; And if thou scoffest, thou alone shalt bear it.” Proverbs 9:7-12

What to learn from this proverb? 

1. Do not correct the scorners

He that correcteth a scoffer getteth to himself reviling; And he that reproveth a wicked man getteth himself a blot. (V7) 
Yes, not everyone deserves to receive a correction and not all are willing to accept rebukes. Some people are obnoxious that they should be left alone. If we are wise, we will be able to discern if one person is deserving to recieve instruction or rebuke. We must be able to weigh the probability of which one would accept the rebuke or reject it. 

Who are the scorners? These are the mockers. They resent corrections, they laugh or deride their teachers. They have an arrogant attitude, conceited and would never listen to advise of others. They live life at their own peril, they are too adventurous to slow down, they are driven by their own will. They are disobedient to their parents. They see themselves high above others. They are not only stubborn but they are head-strong, disrespectful individuals. They hate to be corrected because they always think they are right. 

2. Discern People

“Reprove not a scoffer, lest he hate thee: Reprove a wise man, and he will love thee.”(v8)

Wise men should be able to determine who are wise and the scorners. God wants us to be wise in choosing the company we hang out with. Not all people are wise, some are also scorners. God wants us to have a blessed, peaceful life. 

Avoid scorners, for they will hate you and destroy you. Teach the wise men and they will thank you and love you. 

Testing my own character. Am I a scorner or a wise man? The difference is huge. Scorners resent rebukes and corrections. But wise men loves to be corrected, their hearts and their character responds positively. 

FINAL WORD 

We cannot control the surroundings but we can choose our reactions. We can be upset but we cannot sin. The Lord looks into our hearts and choose not to disregard His commands. Don’t waste time on those unnecessary things. Things that can only eat up our energy and cause us to stumble. Often it’s not about their attitude but it’s about how we react to it. 

I still have a full day to go but I am determined to finish well. 
How about you, how’s your day going? 

Leave a Reply

